The questions asked in the grave


Question: Which questions will be asked in the grave? What are their answers?
The following must be learned as answers to the questions in the grave:

Who is your Rabb?
Allahu ta’âlâ

What is your religion?

The religion of Islam

Which prophet’s community (ummah) do you belong to?
Muhammad’s (alaihis-salâm) community

What is [the name of] your Holy Book?

Qur’ân al-karîm

Where is your qibla?
Ka’ba al-muazzama

What is your madhhab in belief?
Ahl as-Sunnah wa’l-Jamâ‘ah

What is your madhhab in deeds?

You should say the madhhab you follow of the four madhhabs, namely, Hanafî, Mâlikî, Shâfi’î, and Hanbalî.

In addition, it is necessary to know the principles below:

Whom do you descend from?
From Âdam ‘alaihis-salâm

Whose millat do you belong to?
Ibrâhîm’s (‘alaihis-salâm). [Herein millat means religion.]

What is îmân? What are the fundamentals of Âmantu?
Îmân is to believe in the commandments and prohibitions Muhammad ‘alaihis-salâm brought from Allahu ta’âlâ and to state this belief with the tongue.

Îmân is to believe in the six fundamentals declared in the Âmantu and to accept and to like all of the commandments and prohibitions revealed by Allahu ta’âlâ.

Âmantu is as follows:
Âmantu bi’llahi wa malâ’ikatihi wa kutubihi wa rusulihi wal-yawm-il-âkhiri wa bil-qadari khairihi wa sharrihi minallahi ta’âlâ walba’thu ba’d-al-mawt haqqun ash-hadu an lâ ilaha illallah wa ash-hadu anna Muhammadan ’abduhu wa rasûluhu.

[That is, I believe in Allah, in His angels, in His books, in His prophets, in the Last Day, in qadar, in that good and evil are from Allah, in the resurrection after death. I bear witness that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad ‘alaihis-salâm is Allah’s born servant and Last Prophet.]

What are fundamentals of Islam?
They are as follows:
1. To say the Kalimat ash-shahâda
That is, to say, “Ash’hadu an lâ ilâha illa’llah wa ash’hadu anna Muhammadan ‘abduhu wa rasûluhu.” It means: “I bear witness that [that is, I know and declare as if I saw that] there is no god but Allah and again I bear witness that Muhammad ‘alaihis-salâm is His born servant and His Messenger.” To have belief in the Messenger of Allah means accepting, believing, and liking all of what he communicated.
2. To perform the ritual prayer (namâz, salât)
3. To give obligatory alms (zakât)
3. To fast

4. To perform the pilgrimage (hajj)

What are the Attributes of Allahu ta’âlâ?
As-Sifât adh-Dhâtiyya
of Allahu ta’âlâ are six:
1. Al-Wujûd (existence)
2. Al-Qidam (being without beginning and eternal in the past)
3. Al-Baqâ (being without end and eternal in the future)
4. Al-Wahdaniyya (having no partner or match)
5. Al-Mukhâlafatu li-l hawâdith (being dissimilar to every creature in every respect)
6. Al-Qiyâmu bi nafsihi (being unneedy of anything for His existence)

As Sifât ath-Thubûtiyya of Allahu ta’âlâ are eight:
1. Hayât (Life)
2. ‘Ilm (Omniscience)
3. Sam’ (Hearing)
4. Basar (Seeing)
5. Irâda (Will)
6. Qudra (Omnipotence)
7. Kalâm (Speech, Word)
8. Takwîn (Creativeness)

Note: There is detailed information on these fundamentals in the book Endless Bliss. It is possible to read and purchase this valuable book online through this website address: Furthermore, there is extensive information on these subjects in the category Îmân and Islam (Correct faith) on our website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here